the fault in our stars by j green

Happily settled into the new year now, whew.  I opted out from writing my traditional year-end note that ritually wishes everyone all the good stuff alongside a lengthy list of sentimental recollections, ambitious goals, and whatnot because it’s trite.  And frankly no one cares that much.   Instead I thought I’d simply begin 2014 by wishing everyone this.  Ready?  Spend each day as if it were January 1st.  The butterflies in our stomachs, the unfiltered kindness, the courage to forgive, forget, let go and start new — all of it, just carry them out everyday.

The last few months of 2013 was busy and eventful, traveling mainly.  On one of the trips, I went from superb SF weather to below freezing in Boston which left me with some harsh diagnosis including water in my lungs.  Unfortunately, I had to spend Thanksgiving weekend in bed.  But no worries, my improved health by the following week allowed us to romantically spend Christmas in Paris.   I did bring along Wally Lamb’s new hardcover book around the world but failed to read a single page.  You just have to be in the right mood for his books.  Or guarantee enough time to finish in a single setting.

imgres

Anyway, I read John Green’s The Fault In Our Stars on my Kindle while I was sick in bed.  It’s about 13-year old Hazel Grace who suffers from stage four thyroid cancer, and Gus Waters who is in remission from osteosarcoma, and their tragic love story.  It’s sort of a cross between My Sister’s Keeper and The Perks of Being a Wallflower.  It’s definitely a young adult fiction and I wouldn’t read it again, but Green writes with a familiar language that brings the story closer to our hearts.  Frankly for me, it’s terribly difficult to write reviews about books that float in the gray area: neither extreme love nor extreme hate towards the writing, story, or author.  But I hear there’s a movie coming out soon and though I seldom say this, watching the movie may suffice for The Fault in Our Stars.

dee’s recommendation 3/5

