and the mountains echoed by k hosseini

images Immediately after closing the book, I made haste to find my reviews of The Kite Runner and A Thousand Splendid Suns on my blog.  I wanted to recollect precisely of my emotions when Amir and Hassan exited my mind as well as Mariam and Laila with the last pages of the books respectively.  I was certain that my emotions hanging from the last page of And The Mountains Echoed was immeasurable compared to the last two.  Then I realized it had been ten years since reading the author’s debut novel, which was a few years before the birth of this blog..!

I read Khaled Housseini’s And The Mountains Echoed with rapt attention, completely and utterly engrossed in his words and style.  His storytelling is seamlessly intricate and subtly powerful.  It felt like I was walking through drizzling rain without an umbrella only to find myself soaked up and drenched by the end.  Hosseini’s frequent themes of family, love, relationships, and tragedy continue to dominate Mountains.  The phrase “blood is thicker than water” comes to mind.  But the novel redefines this proverb… to something closer to “true love never grows old”; and not only in a romantic sense.

Each chapter voices different characters — but I assure you that nothing is ever repeated and the style approach of each chapter is extraordinarily and creatively unique.  The story journeys through a span of about 60 years.  It’s about an Afghan family who regrettably separates with their youngest daughter Pari and learns to live with this decision throughout their entire lives.

We don’t realize it but as families we make so many decisions together that nurture, wound, and honor each other every day.  We make so many sacrifices without question, yet we also are surprised by the actions of our family members at times that matter most.  The pushing and pulling of emotions are probably the most dynamic, dangerous, and fragile in a family.  But it is because of our blood that we never fear of being honest about picking our battles with our families.  And this is exactly what Hosseini continues to explore in Mountains.  It’s not as emotionally galvanizing as The Kite Runner but it is definitely a masterpiece compared to A Thousand Splendid Suns.  Strongly recommend you read it, savor every bit of it, and pass it on to everybody you love… happy reading!

They tell me I must wade into waters, where I will soon drown.  Before I march in, I leave this on the shore for you.  I pray you find it, sister, so you will know what was in my heart as I went under.”  

dee’s recommendation: 5/5

