room by e donoghue

I had been absent for two months from my blog because I was traveling to take time off from my reality.  But I also deliberately took a break from reading because of how so many books that I have read and loved are quickly going on-screen.  I love watching films.  I can watch ’em all day long.  But I started to lose a bit of hope in reviving the art of reading after finding out that Water for Elephants (which was my very first book review for my blog) is releasing in theaters some time this year.  I’m sure it will be a great movie but I wholeheartedly predict that the cinematographic version will depict the story as a more romantic one than an adventurous one (ugh, fail).  The book was amazing; I’m sure the movie will be too but nobody will bother to go pick up the book because after viewing the movie, they will believe that there’s not much left to intake from the book.  Which is completely false.  Does anybody take the time to read anymore? Books are windows to our souls.  Well, so I’ve become jaded but life goes on.   Anyway, I guess the most I can do is mention what kind of books could be well transformed into a movie.  And I’ve decided that Emma Donoghue’s Room could be one of them.

The book is narrated by a five-year-old boy, Jack.  Him and his “Ma” live in Room.  Jack obviously has never been out of Room.  He describes Door, Lamp, and the comfort that Bed provides every night.  Then there’s Old Nick who comes and goes with Sunday Treats, but that’s only if they behave and get lucky.  Ma and Jack never go out of Room.  In fact, for Jack, Room and everything inside it is the only thing that exists in the universe… everything else is fake or non-existent.  I’m not spoiling it but from reading the first few pages, you learn that Ma was kidnapped and kept in Room for 5+ years.  Jack was the outcome from one of her daily rapes by Old Nick.

Because the book is written through the perspective of a five-year-old, I initially did not accept everything Jack said.  The more I read, however, the more everything started to make sense and helped me observe the human race under a new light.  It’s not fast-paced and the plot may seem like a drag in the middle.  But the plot is more than just life in Room; it’s a bit of a metaphor to how we think, behave, and react to…well, life.  It also got me to wonder if sometimes long-term confinement or isolation is necessary for us – just to give us a new perspective.  Furthermore, Room conveys that there aren’t any rules to be broken; there is no right or wrong in how you think or what you believe in. If you have read and enjoyed The Lovely Bones you will definitely enjoy this book too.

dee’s recommendation: 3.5/5