making time by s taylor

Did you know that an average person spends 15% of her life waiting in queues?  Or 3% of her lifetime trying to make return phone calls?  We already know that time seems to go faster as we get older or slower when we’re exposed to new experiences and environments (i.e. directions to a new place).  Making Time by Steve Taylor shows how to control our sense of time so that it can effectively increase the length and quality of our lives. Weird, right?

There are a lot of insights into understanding the perception of time; one section discusses how indigenous peoples do not have a sense of time and as a result their language does not consist of past or future tenses.  Although I wouldn’t consider them “indigenous” anymore, Bahasa Indonesia does not consist of any tense either.  So it would be like: yesterday I go shopping, today I go shopping, and tomorrow I go shopping.  Isn’t that so odd?  Why are some cultures more focused in time frames than others? Of course, nobody has the answer to literally “make time” but  Taylor’s conceptual framework of comprehending time almost convinces you that you can “create” more time.

I remember… when I was younger, I cut out a newspaper clipping of a Henry Van Dyke quote and stuck it on my wall because I wholeheartedly agreed with it.  As time passed, I sort of grew out of it but I still remember what he said: “Time is too slow for those who wait, too swift for those who fear, too long for those who grieve, too short for those who rejoice; but for those who love, time is eternity.” Reading this book has given me a new perspective to read and absorb that quote… it’s a universal understanding, honestly, but it gets interesting when you start asking why things are the way they are with time.

dee’s rec: 3.5/5

