coffee talk, nov 2009

1) A book that changed your life: John Steinbeck’s Of Mice and Men; not that it actually changed my life but I think reading that book was the turning point to my reading escapade.  It was a really short book but it triggered new kinds of feelings that made me hungry to read more books.

2) A book you’ve read more than once: Ayn Rand’s The Fountainhead; Wally Lamb’s She’s Come Undone; Yann Martel’s Life of Pi; Jennifer Weiner’s In Her Shoes; Elie Wiesel’s Night; Jeanette Well’s The Glass Castle; Sylvia Plath’s The Bell Jar; and the list goes on….

3) A book you want with you on a deserted island: Gregory Maguire’s Wicked; wicked fun!

4) A book that made you laugh: Jonathan Foer’s Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close; Aravind Adiga’s The White Tiger (very sarcastic); …

5) A book that made you cry: Ernest Hemingway’s The Old Man and the Sea (I was eleven); Khaled Hosseini’s The Kite Runner (cried so many times); James Frey’s My Friend Leonard; Sue Monk Kidd’s The Mermaid Chair; Vikas Swarup’s Slumdog Millionaire; …

6) A book that you’d wish to see in the future: The effect of the rising female executive leadership roles in Fortune 500 companies.

7) A book that you wish had never been written: James Frey’s A Million Little Pieces – at the time I was in love with the book. I must’ve read it over two times and bought five copies to give to my friends.  Then I found out that Frey fabricated most of his “memoir” and was disgusted beyond words.  It’s still a great book.  But it’s fiction.

8) Currently reading: Haruki Murakami’s Norwegian Wood; Gary Hamel’s The Future of Management.

9) A book you’ve been meaning to read: Leo Tolstoy’s Anna Karenina.  It’s a challenge.

10) All-time favorite: too many :).

11) Most over-rated writers: Dan Brown… Malcolm Gladwell. Lauren Weisberger.

12) Most creative writers: Don DeLillo. Mark Haddon. Joyce Carol Oates. Tim O’Brien.